Know Dubai

All visitors to the UAE require a visa, except nationals of the Arab Gulf Cooperation Council countries. Visitors can apply for 14-day Service Visa, a 30-day and 90-day Tourist Visa. Holders of British, French, Italian, Dutch, Belgian, German, Luxembourgian, Swiss, Austrian, Swedish, Norwegian, Icelandic, Danish, Portuguese, Irish, Greek, Finnish, Spanish, Monacan, Vatican, Andorran, San Marino, Liechtenstein, American, Australian, New Zealand, Japanese, Bruneian, South Korean, Singaporean, Malaysian, Canadian and Hong Kong passports will be granted a 30-day Visit Visa upon arrival to UAE.

Visitors who overstay will have to pay a penalty charge of AED 200 for the first day and AED 100 per each following day.

No customs duty is imposed on personal effects entering Dubai. Beware that it is forbidden to import drugs and pornographic items.

The Duty Free Allowances are:
Cigarettes - AED 2,000
Cigars and tobacco - reasonable quantity
Alcohol is permitted for adults only - 2 liters of spirits and 2 liters of wine
Perfume - personal use